Stray Jindo

I honestly am considering adopting this guy. He’s a stray, likely not microchipped (which means I can smuggle him out of the country since they won’t know he’s a purebred), and my favourite color of Jindo (which for some reason they call “gray”). He’s a little skittish, but he doesn’t bark and he’s not aggressive and I think I could work with him. My Aussie was more skittish around strangers than he is, and far more aggressive both to people and other dogs, so while it would be a learning experience, I think I could do okay.

More photos (and some video!) of him later.

7 Responses to “Stray Jindo”


  1. 1 QuakerDave August 6, 2008 at 9:23 am

    How can you NOT? That dog is adorable!

  2. 2 Driftingfocus August 6, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Yes, he’s quite cute. Plus, I sort of like the challenge of making an abused and neglected dog friendly again. I used to work at a shelter when I was younger, and I have missed it working with animals. It’s very rewarding and centering. I have been feeding him as often as possible, but he is still quite skinny. Here’s some other photos of him, and of Marc (boyfriend) feeding him as well: http://driftingfocus.livejournal.com/2674804.html

    The main obstacle to adopting him is that he would have to stay in my apartment from approximately 8am to 5pm at least two days a week. Mondays I have no way to come home during lunch, and about half the time I don’t have the time on Wednesdays either. Jindos virtually never need housetraining, even as puppies, but I just worry that he would be uncomfortable. It’s something I need to ask around about.

  3. 3 Eva October 14, 2008 at 3:06 am

    He’s a cutie! I can’t imagine he would be more miserable staying in a house for the day than being stuck on a short chain for days on end. Here in the states, we have many Jindos that stay home all day for 5 days a week as their owners go to work. They usually do well as long as they get plenty of exercise when the owner does get home. Primary concerns for Jindos living in the states seem to be their natural prey drive which can be dangerous to neighborhood cats and squirrels if the dog is off leash. They also tend to be snippy with other dogs and so do not always do well with a second dog in the same house. Jindos are not super reliable with verbal recall when they are off leash, so that should be considered. Considering the situation this Jindo is in now, I bet he would love your house and your prior experience with troubled dogs is an added advantage.

  4. 4 Pamela Gorman October 15, 2008 at 4:02 am

    Hello, saw your blog and picture of the Jindo you are possibly going to adopt..I would take him in a heart beat.
    The jindo breed is so smart that if he feels part of your family/pack he will be happy..He will need one on one and routine and to feel secure and you will have a great dog.

    I wish you luck and Jindos are awsome.

  5. 5 Driftingfocus October 16, 2008 at 2:08 am

    I have since this post discovered that it is a girl, but yeah. She’s a sweetie.

    I would take her in a heartbeat as well, but the main issue is that I am traveling for the month of February and would either have to give her back to her original owner for a month or find someone to take care of her. Also, I will be traveling on my way home to the US, and so the dog would either have to fly home alone and be picked up by my boyfriend, or I would have to bring the dog back to the states in February, where she would have to live alone with my boyfriend until I returned in June. He has met and likes the dog, but I think that would be an awful lot of transition to put her through.

  6. 6 caitlin mcclarin November 19, 2010 at 1:14 am

    So I think your pictures may have answered my itching “what IS my dog?” kinda questions…


  1. 1 Jindo World Dog Show « Waygook Next Door Trackback on October 11, 2008 at 1:16 am

Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 52,598 hits

