Definitely a “Doh!” moment…

Boy, I feel l ike a doof.

I misread my schedule and slept through an entire class I was supposed to teach.

Every afternoon here at JETI, there is one “open period” that the trainees go to for listening practice.  It is after lunch, so that if a trainee is 5min late after lunch or whatnot, it’s not as bad as if they missed the beginning of a class.  I had looked at the schedule this morning and seen “Oh, my class is at last period.” from 4-5.  In fact, I checked and re-checked this several times, both before lunch and before my post-lunch nap.  Well, today they flopped when the open period was, from the one after lunch (1-2) to the one before dinner (4-5), and thus, because of the swap of the open period, the last class was at 3, not 4.  >.<

There are two doors to my room here (there’s sort of an entrance-way that is closed off), and though they banged on the outside one, I was sleeping away inside, in peace and quiet.  I went to the classroom at 4pm, and my students were sitting there with a look of “WTF?!?  Where were you?!” on their faces.  Oops.  I felt really bad, and apologized profusely, and went to find the program coordinator and the foreign teacher organizer.  Apparently they had been looking all over for me, and while they weren’t what I’d call pissed, per se, they were a little unhappy.  Another teacher had apparently come and taken over the class, and so they ended up paying her for the class rather than me, which was fine with me.  I again apologized profusely, and hopefully my gaffe won’t be the topic of discussion at the dinner table tonight.

0 Responses to “Definitely a “Doh!” moment…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 52,598 hits

