Supply trip!

Went into Gwangju yesterday afternoon to go to HomePlus and pick up some food, a smaller suitcase (for weekend trips), and some other assorted goodies.  I am now the darling of the camp because I have a big ol’ box of instant coffee (which is actually astoundingly good here in Korea), and a big bag of Snickers minis that I dole out to those who help me with stuff like translating (most of the other teachers have been here a goodly amount of time and can speak decent Korean).  I also got two massive bags of high-calorie dog treats (high-calorie because most of them need to *gain* weight not *lose* it) which I will be giving out to the various nearby strays back in Jindo.  There’s a stray here too, a sweet white Jindo girl who looks like she’s had puppies at some point, and so I’ll be giving her some as well.  I also may use them to help me lure that stray back in Jindo home.

I also bought a hunk of cheddar while there.  I hadn’t had cheese in almost three months!  When I took a bite, I realized that I had almost forgotten what cheese tasted like!  What horror!  I think Marc’s mother would be scandalized, haha.  I will be going by again before I leave in 2 weeks, to pick up some cheese to take back home to Jindo.  They had brie!  BRIE!  And emmentaler, camembert, and boursin.  It’s phenomenally expensive (my hunk of cheddar cost me around $8!), but damnit, I must have my cheese!

Friday we have a field trip to….somewhere.  I haven’t been informed yet, in true Korean fashion.  We get back Friday afternoon, and then if the weather looks good, I think I’m going to go down to Wando for the weekend.  There are a couple teachers from there here at JETI, and even if none of them have a spare couch, I can at least follow them home and figure out how to get where I need to go.  Wando has one of the best beaches in the country supposedly, and I want to see what all the hubbub is about.

On a final, random note, the vocabulary of my students here is way, way, way higher than my students back in Jindo, and so I have found myself coming back to my room between classes to look up the etymology of words on wikipedia.  Man, English is one bizarre language.  Quite the melting pot indeed.

0 Responses to “Supply trip!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 52,347 hits

