Recap Part 1!

So. A lot has gone on lately!

Last Friday, JETI (both us teachers and our trainees) went on a field trip to Namwon (to see something involving the Korean folktale Chunhyangga) and then to Wolchulsan. The first leg of the trip was entertaining, mainly because they insisted in dressing up us silly foreigners in traditional Korean clothing, dressed as the characters from the story. Here’s me as the love interest:

Me as Chunhyang

Believe me, those clothes are fucking hot to be in in this weather.

It was neat, and there was a very detailed temple (the shots in the two posts before this one are from there), though the lunch we had was so spicy that about half the foreigners started to feel ill, myself included. For the second half of the day, we went to Wolchulsan, which took almost two hours to drive to. Wolchulsan is Korea’s smallest national park, but it’s quite beautiful. If you can make it up the mountain (mountains in Korea are phenomenally steep – often almost straight up), there’s a very wobbly “cloud bridge” that spans two minor peaks. Sadly, we were running out of time, so I didn’t get too many shots. Here’s one of me on the bridge (it’s a long way down from there, believe me):

 

Me on the Wolchulsan Cloud Bridge

Me on the Wolchulsan Cloud Bridge

 

My friend Colin thinks that should be captioned “sweaty on a bridge”. I kind of agree.

After Wolchulsan, we headed back to JETI, and me and the two teachers from Wando (Melisa and Dan) went into town and caught a bus to Wando. Unfortunately, there were no seats left, so Dan and I had to spend almost three hours sitting on the floor of the bus, in the aisle, but it wasn’t the end of the world. The ride down was quite pretty. When we got in, they ran into some other Wando friends (Wando is about twice the population of Jindo, and half the size) right off the bat, and they offered to put me up on their couch. I said I was fine with staying in one of the cheap motels nearby, but they said that there was some sort of beach day tomorrow that all the foreigners in the area were going to go to, so it would be easier to just stay with them so we could all go together.

Okay, that’s it for now, as I need to sleep. Tomorrow I will talk about: Wando (and Myeongsashimni Beach), Gwangju, Korean Fashion, finally having an “aw, I like Korea…” moment, and yesterday evening’s Three Stooges inspired antics.

0 Responses to “Recap Part 1!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 52,598 hits

