Make it stop…

The Koreans are having a farewell party two floors below my room here, and they have been drinking and singing karaoke for the last…5 hours. They have been singing so loudly that I can hear the lyrics through my floor.

Did I somehow magically transport back to my first year of college? Oh, no, that’s right, Koreans have the maturity levels and behavioral patterns of college freshmen when you put bottles of soju in their hands.

Plus, I am so tired of being treated as if I’m some sort of social pariah for turning down offers of soju, or more than a first cup of beer. I don’t particularly enjoy getting drunk, and I definitely don’t enjoy the way Koreans socialize when they drink, and I really wish that they would just stop pestering me when I say “no thank you, I’m fine”. Maybe I should start telling them it’s “against my beliefs” or that “I don’t deal well with alcohol”, or something, just to get them to go away. I can’t exactly say “You turn into irritating teenagers when you drink, so the reason I’m only having one beer is so I can get out of here as quickly as possible without completely offending you.” to them, but man, sometimes I really, really want to.

Okay, sorry, just had to get that out.

1 Response to “Make it stop…”


  1. 1 Eileen October 17, 2008 at 5:02 am

    Hi, was browsing through the Korea Blogs blogring (or whatever it’s called), and came across yours that way. Sorry to hear that your experiences on Jindo island have included a lot of frustrating times 😦 –it IS hard to live relatively far from Seoul and the more metropolitan areas, plus being a teacher is really difficult on its own, so I really admire that you’re out there living and teaching–takes a lot of courage that most people (including me!) don’t have. Anyway, about the soju and rowdiness, you’re not the only one who finds it obnoxious–my mom and I visited Korea last year (I’m Korean-American, orig. from Chicago), and we came across a group of middle-aged ladies who were drinking and carrying on like college undergrads–my mom was so embarrassed and quickly steered me away from there, telling me that that was pretty common among Koreans, but that it was a rather ugly side of Korean culture these days and was something I was better off avoiding. Anyway, great blog, am really enjoying reading it, as I kinda miss Korea a lot.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 52,347 hits

