Huzzah!

I only live in the mold pit for another week!  w00t!  For those of you curious as to what I mean by “mold pit”, here are some photos, for explanation:

gunnaehouse-1
gunnaehouse-3
I’ve been living in this place since early August, but never really moved in, since I was told I would only be here for a few months.  It’s really gross – there’s only one working light, there’s bugs (including centipedes) everywhere, there’s a huge mold problem (as seen above), and they’re building a new building about 50 feet from my window and start work on it at 6am.  I like being even further into the countryside (my current village has fewer than 100 people, I’d estimate), but this house is….gross.
11 Responses to “Huzzah!”


  1. 1 Brian September 12, 2008 at 6:07 am

    Ewww, that’s horrible. Substandard. I’ve had mold in my place when I moved in, but nothing that couldn’t be cleaned without a few hours’ elbow grease. My irrational fear of insects aside, I don’t think I’d feel comfortable or at ease having to go home to a place like that every day. You should have complained to Andrea or someone about that.

  2. 2 Driftingfocus September 12, 2008 at 6:29 am

    I was told this was essentially the only place available, and even at that, I had to really stamp my foot (including threatening to quit, and walking out of the education office) to not be placed in Jindo’s really crappy love motel for 2 months. In retrospect, it might have been better!

  3. 3 Brian September 12, 2008 at 6:32 am

    I was also told that there was no place available. In retrospect I learned that the county waited until the last possible minute to try and find housing. I don’t understand, if they knew they were getting a teacher months, if not a year, in advance, why couldn’t they secure housing?

    A lot of things about your situation sound kind of unpleasant, including having to buy a scooter.

  4. 4 Driftingfocus September 12, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Yep. They knew that my building was being renovated all the way back in January, and yet they didn’t start looking until less than a month before I was to be kicked out. What is it with Koreans not being able to think ahead?

    Well, I love having a scooter, and I was going to buy one anyway, but I don’t like that I *had* to. At least I get an extra $450 a month in “travel allowance”, so basically it was just a month’s extra allowance. Plus, the garage says he will buy it back from me next year for only $100 less, unless I drop it or something.

  5. 5 zenkimchi September 13, 2008 at 4:20 am

    Is this a public school? I was told this week by Rowan at ESL-Planet that this drive to put foreign teachers in every single school has created problems. School that have never had a foreigner before don’t know what to do and come out acting like shady hagwons. For their credit, EPIK has gotten wind of it and is getting medieval on the bad public schools.

    Are you one of those cautionary tales?

  6. 6 Driftingfocus September 14, 2008 at 12:52 am

    This is a public school. However, it has had a foreigner for 2 years now (I was the second – the first left after a year and a half), so it’s not new to the concept. However, the supervisor who started a few months before my arrival (and who fired the former teacher) was brand new to dealing with foreigners in any way/shape/form, and it really showed. They eventually had to remove her, as 3 of the foreigners on the island complained to the province about her mismanagement. This education office (I work for 7 schools) just is not really prepared, even after so long, for a foreign teacher.

    I’d love to hear some examples of what EPIK has been doing to counteract this.

  7. 7 cowsbythefence September 15, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Wow. That can’t be healthy.

  8. 8 Driftingfocus September 16, 2008 at 2:02 am

    Yeah, thankfully no illnesses yet.

  9. 9 scottishboomerang September 18, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Word to the wise. Never accept accommodation like that. Tell them its ok and they can pay for a motel. Refuse to move your stuff in, and refuse to teach until they fix it. Start looking for alternative work as soon as you land.


  1. 1 First Entry « Driftingfocus Trackback on September 16, 2008 at 11:51 am
  2. 2 Lessons in Diplomacy Trackback on January 24, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 52,347 hits

