Changing Winds

Yesterday, the winds shifted, and autumn has officially arrived.

At some point in the year, the winds in Korea shift from being from the west, originating in Manchuria, to being from the north, originating in Siberia.  This air, brought in by the Siberian winds from the steppes of Russia, has a very different quality.  Not only is it markedly chilly (duh…), but it is also clearer, cleaner, and very windy.  Usually this shift happens very quickly, but here in Jindo, it took one night.  On Thursday, it was hot.  That night, we had a HUGE windstorm strong enough to knock over several motorcycles (not mine, thankfully), and on Friday morning I woke up to chilly (upper 50s) air that I can only describe as smelling like autumn.  It’s not quite the same smell as New England, but it has similar notes of rotting leaves and turned earth, and it has that crispness that only comes in autumn.  It’s about as close as I can get to being back at home, and I’ll take what I can get.

The quality of the light is also different.  It’s more intense, in a way.  During most of my time here, the light is very diffuse.  It’s sunny, but there’s a lot of haze at high altitude, and so while it is very bright, it is sometimes difficult to even locate the sun in the sky.  As of yesterday, the skies have had distinct clouds, and the sky above them is a deep blue.  The sun that shines gives off an almost white light, except in the evening, when it becomes a deep yellow.  It makes far more of a difference in how Jindo looks than one would think.

I have been really missing New England of late, and I find that this recent shift of weather has helped with that considerably.  The only downside is that it does signal that Korea’s famously bitter winter will begin soon.

4 Responses to “Changing Winds”


  1. 1 Mom September 27, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I love your description of the weather change. I sure miss this kind of weather as well. It is cooler here since yesterday, and will probably stay this type of cool through October, we hope.

    I hope that this brings new photography and lighter feelings.

    Love you

  2. 2 Little Swallow September 27, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Wow, brings new meaning to “the winds are changing”. Or rather, emphasizes it’s original meaning — I don’t think I’ve ever heard someone tell about winds changing so quickly like this!

  3. 3 Christine October 1, 2008 at 12:43 am

    Yeah, the wind in Seoul has picked up quite a bit. I personally love this, and wish it would stay for a long little bit.

  4. 4 Jessi October 3, 2008 at 6:40 am

    I’m in San Francisco now, and I miss the change of seasons so much!! Your post made me so homesick for my original homes: Pennsylvania, and Korea!


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 52,463 hits

