Birthday!

Sorry I have not updated in…forever.  I have sort of gotten myself into a rut (a good rut, but a rut nonetheless), and I often forget to post.

I had my birthday last Monday, the 29th.  I’m 25 now.  It’s pretty weird, having your birthday in a foreign country, but it was also kind of interesting, as well.  I haven’t had any sort of birthday “celebration” in at least 2, probably more like 3 or 4 years, and somehow, being around friends I know less well made it more comfortable for me to do so.  Among my friends back in the states, we all know each other so well that nobody ever really does much for birthdays – we just get together, hang out, eat, etc.  Not all that much different from any other gathering, really.  Here though, since we’re all drawn together from completely random backgrounds, it’s easier to have more of a traditional “party”, for some reason.

2 Responses to “Birthday!”


  1. 1 Mom October 10, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Glad you had a fairly happy birthday! I’m off to the Hill Country for my first exposure to “book signings”. Whole ‘nother world. Wish me luck!

    Love you
    mom

  2. 2 Little Swallow October 18, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Happy really belated birthday! And an interesting observation … I for one like that my birthday isn’t such a big deal anymore. I certainly don’t mind people wishing me a happy birthday, but I don’t like others feeling obligated to get gifts, and I always felt like I was under so much pressure when I was younger because my mom wanted to make it SUCH a special day, as odd as that may sound. I like low key things.


Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 52,463 hits

