Jindo World Dog Show

Me and a favourite...

The Island I work on, Jindo Island, is famous in Korea for the breed of dog that originated here, the Korean Jindo Gae (Jindo Dog).  They are considered a “neolithic breed” by most dog experts, as their isolation has allowed them to remain practically unchanged for thousands of years.  They are distantly related to the Shiba Inu and the Siberian Laika, and are known for their tenacity, intelligence, and loyalty.

These dogs are everywhere on Jindo.  Because the breed is protected as a national treasure, only Jindos that are bred on the island can be considered “pure”, and so everyone and their mother has a small kennel in the backyard because of the premium these puppies go for.  On top of that, it is illegal to take them out of the country, and so most Jindos are microchipped at 6 months old, and yes, they do check, both at the airport and the checkpoint on the bridge to the mainland.

Despite that, I have been considering taking one home.  There is an “undesirable one” (due to its coloring, which I love) in a nearby village that I took a liking to early on.  She used to be a stray, but someone finally leashed her (you can see a photo of her here).  I have become friends with the owner, and I feed the dog a few times a week (in addition to giving the family bags of dog food on occasion) and walk her and give her toys.  She is not microchipped (due to her less-than-ideal conformation), and so I could, in theory, take her home, and I have considered offering to buy her from the owner.  I probably will not, as Marc and I are still unsure as to where we will be living when I return to the states, but for the time being, when I refer to “my dog”, the other foreigners all know exactly what I’m talking about.

Anyway, back to the original topic of the post:  the dog show.  Last weekend was the Jindo World Dog Show, where people brought their Jindo dogs from all over the country, and a couple from England and the US (there is an official, govt. sanctioned breeder in each of those countries).  There were probably a couple hundred, in total.  I went on two separate days (it was three days long!), and had quite a fun time, as I love dogs.  Below is a small selection of some of the shots I took.  I may post more later:

4 Responses to “Jindo World Dog Show”


  1. 1 SenNim October 26, 2008 at 10:14 am

    What a beautiful dog! That red-gold coat is just amazing. (I’ve had too many feckless daydreams about going to Jindo to get a nice dog, but alas, so many restrictions).

    “Your dog” is quite lovely too. I hope you can find a way to keep him.
    😀

  2. 2 Driftingfocus October 26, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    Yeah, I have noticed that the orange/sesame/yellow/whatever term you use dogs on the island are darker than those off the mainland.

  3. 3 Brian Ko September 19, 2009 at 12:03 am

    I love my Jindo Naula! She’s getting old though…. 😦

  4. 4 Georgia May 13, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    My Jindo is the best thing that has happened to me. She is certainly a show stopper. I take her everywhere with me. She is a happy girl.


Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 52,598 hits

