“My Dog”

So, yesterday when I took “my dog” (she still lacks a name) for a walk, I decided to take some photos.  So, here you go.  By the way, if you have any name suggestions, I would love to hear them.

7 Responses to ““My Dog””


  1. 1 Kristen October 14, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    What a beautiful girl! I rescue Jindos in the U.S. I can assure you that when you return to the U.S. you will find a Jindo. These dogs are being exported and bred in the U.S. Sadly, far too many are abandoned in animal shelters and that’s where rescue comes in. Many Americans are discovering what wonderful, amazing dogs Jindos are and we are rallying to save them. I wish I could help you find a name for her, but she will name herself when the time is right.

  2. 2 Driftingfocus October 15, 2008 at 12:43 am

    Yeah. Originally, I was strongly considering offering to buy this dog from the owner (who doesn’t feed her on a regular basis and makes her live on a 6 foot chain), but since I’m not sure what my living situation will be when I return, I am shying away from it. I am considering offering to take the dog until I return to the US, though, so that I can get it back to more normal health, and give it some affection for awhile and get a companion in the process. I’ve been walking her and training her at the owner’s location, and he just looks at me like I’m a nutty foreigner, which, I suppose I am.

    They’re really very over-looked dogs. They are very intelligent and willing to please, but they need a firm hand and not many people know how to provide that. I’m working with this dog on verbal recall right now by giving her a 30 foot leash, which to her is basically like being off-leash. She comes when whistled for, but once she has returned to me, she goes right back out to the end of the leash again, like she was just “checking in”. We’re working on it.

    Have you seen my youtube videos? I have one of this girl, as well as one of some of the other puppies I try to visit as much as possible. My youtube profile (with my videos) is here: http://kr.youtube.com/user/driftingfocus

  3. 3 Driftingfocus October 15, 2008 at 12:45 am

    And yeah, she’s a rare color: a “gray”. Ironically, the Koreans think it’s ugly, and undesirable, which is why she was never chipped or bred.

  4. 4 Little Swallow October 18, 2008 at 1:15 am

    She’s a pretty one! I have no name suggestions though.

  5. 5 esstr November 17, 2010 at 7:02 am

    hi! came across your blog when i was reading the news on how the LAPD is starting to train jindos as special K9s. your dog looks like my dog, both of which are considered rare gray jindos. i had a red jindo prior to simba for 12 years and she was a great dog. glad to know that people appreciate these dogs as they are AMAZINGLY LOYAL and beautiful pets 🙂


  1. 1 Ssangyesa Temple Trackback on December 13, 2008 at 4:28 pm
  2. 2 Living Life Frame by Frame » Blog Archive » Travel Tuesday Photo: Me & the Jindo Trackback on March 3, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 52,347 hits

