A few things…

Have I ever mentioned on here how weird it is to experience a holiday in a country that doesn’t celebrate it?

4th of July was weird, as my Korean friends actually reminded me about it, since nationalism is very important to Koreans.  I spoke for about 5 minutes about the founding of the US at the beginning of my classes, but that was about it.  Halloween was yesterday and I completely forgot about it (despite it being my favourite holiday) until one of my students said “Happy Halloween” to me.  Thankfully, I have a huge (1ft by 1.5ft) jug of candy that I carry around with me as rewards for particularly good students, and so I told my students that if they came by my desk at any point in the day and said “trick or treat”, that I would give them candy.  Not exactly celebrating, but it was about as close as I could get.

In other news, my body is clearly nuts.  I went to bed at 3am last night, which is not all that unusual for me, but for some reason my body decided to wake up at 7:30am.  I’m not tired, per se, but I definitely feel unrested.  Bleh.

I may go to Mokpo tomorrow to do some grocery shopping.  Homeplus has a pretty good selection of western products (for a Korean store) and I am running low on cereal, western beer (I only drink one or two per week, and I almost never drink Korean beer), and a few other things.

0 Responses to “A few things…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 52,598 hits

