Oops.

Considering I live on “that island with the dogs”, this was bound to happen eventually:

leg-11

Yep, I finally got bitten.  It was due to my own stupidity, really.  Most Jindos, I have found, bark out of fear, and so when you step forward and show that you are not afraid of them, they actually begin to wag their tails and will come forward to meet you.  There’s a Jindo that I walk past almost every day that barks at my every time, and he seemed like the type that was in fact just “playing at” being a guard dog.  So, on Friday, I decided to step forward, rather than continue walking by.

Wrong decision.

The dog lunged forward and before I could take a full step back, gave me what I suspect was meant to be a “warning nip” on the back of my left knee.  When I had backed up a few feet, I looked down at my pants leg, and there wasn’t even a tear in the fabric, so I assumed I was okay.  Nope.  About 50 yards later, I could feel something wet on my calf, and pulled up my pants leg and discovered two dripping holes.  The good thing, at least, is that since the fabric didn’t tear, there was no way for any fabric to get into the wound, which is a major cause of infections.

I went back to my apartment, dropped off my bags (I had been at the market), and headed out to the hospital.  After sitting in the waiting room for 15 minutes, I was told that I had to go to a different hospital, and they pointed me in the right direction.

I finally found that hospital, and after waiting for about 10 minutes, they finally saw me.  They cleaned out the wound with iodine, and then stuffed two iodine-soaked gauze pads into the holes, and then wrapped the whole thing in a big bandage.  I also got a tetanus shot and either a penicillin or rabies shot, and a big bag of antibiotics to take (5 different pills, 3 times a day) and was told to come back every day until Monday to have the wound checked and re-cleaned, and that then on Monday or Tuesday, once they were sure the wound was clean, they would give me a few stitches in each of the wounds to close them up.

Well, I went back yesterday, but nobody had told me that the hospital closes at 2pm, so I ended up re-dressing the holes myself with peroxide and neosporin.  I will be going back today though, before noon, just to make sure that I get there in time.  I can’t believe I live in a town where the emergency room closes at 2pm on weekends.  What about all those farmers here who accidentally cut off a toe or something at, say, 3?  Korea is weird.

Anyway.  It’s less painful than it looks, though it is most definitely in an awkward location, to be sure.

5 Responses to “Oops.”


  1. 1 Alex November 9, 2008 at 3:00 am

    So they gave you the standard issue pills then. No matter what your reason is for going to the doctor, they seem to always give out the standard issue 5-pill 3-day medication pack. There’s the small pill, pink pill, blue pill, yellow pill. Sometimes a big round orange one.

    Did they try to infuse you with yellow liquid, too? They put me on an IV when I had a cold. I felt like I was being put in a full leg cast for a stubbed toe.

  2. 2 Driftingfocus November 9, 2008 at 3:26 am

    I have a small white pill, a small pink pill, a blue and white capsule, a large white pill, and an orange one.

    They didn’t give me an IV, but I have 3 shots of antibiotics, and they insist that I come in every day to change my bandages, because clearly I am incapable of taping some gauze to myself. >.<

    Korea is a bit big on medical overkill. It’s better than under-treatment though.

  3. 3 morningjoy November 13, 2008 at 3:48 am

    At least you were seen quickly. Where I live in the USA you can wait hours in the emergency room before being seen. I hope you heal quickly. I walk daily and am always concerned about dogs. You have my sincere sympathy.

  4. 4 Driftingfocus November 19, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Yeah, believe me, I’ve spent time in US emergency rooms. They suck.


  1. 1 Why Living Abroad Made Me A Better American | Living Life Frame by Frame Trackback on July 5, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 52,463 hits

