*sigh*

Because, you know, I’d want to work at this job if I spoke Turkish!  I particularly love the “ps: hurry up please” remark.

God, how insulting. Almost as insulting as the fact that the teacher who they have hired to replace our previous English Town teacher has been delayed because, once immigration saw in her photo that she is Asian, despite the fact that she was born and raised in the US, they have insisted that she has to go to the nearest Korean consulate to have an interview, “to confirm that her English is native”. This is not, by any means, the first time I have heard of that happening.

Oh Korea, your institutionalized racism is so entertaining. Only, not.

6 Responses to “*sigh*”


  1. 1 Little Swallow November 21, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Coincidentally, this also came up on my RSS feed this morning: “Taiwanese Accuse Korea Asiana Airlines of Discrimination.”

  2. 2 Driftingfocus November 22, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I found the articles – honestly, I’m not surprised at all. There are definitely two standards here. Koreans, and everyone else.

  3. 3 Brian November 23, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Because I can think of no other way to test a person’s English ability than to have them do an interview at the Korean Embassy.

  4. 5 sarah December 3, 2008 at 6:38 am

    That’s so weird. I know several Asian-American teachers, including myself, no one has had any experience like that. I think that’s really the exception than the rule.

  5. 6 Driftingfocus December 3, 2008 at 8:33 am

    I didn’t say it was the rule, just that it happens far more than it should (which, really, is never). I have heard about it many times over on Dave’s, though this is the first time I have known someone personally who it happened to.


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 52,347 hits

