Freedom

My bike, at the top of one of the nearby “hills” at sunset:

stuff-6

One of the major advantages of having my “scootercycle” (as I call it, as it’s 100cc) is that I can drive around the island to get my photos pretty easily.  I have a tendency to just wander around on the little one-lane roads that form a spiderweb between the rice paddies and meander up the mountains.  I like the freedom of being able to stop at a crossroads and think “Hm… I wonder what’s up over on the other side of that hill…” and then actually go and find out.  My sense of personal freedom is very important to me, and I think I would have gone a little crazy by this point if I didn’t have my bike, and the ability to just “go” that it provides and represents.  I have lived in cities, and I have lived in the countryside, and I prefer the countryside, but what I did not initially take into account in my choice of Jindo as my location here in Korea was transportation.  When I have lived in rural areas in the past, I have always had my own car.  Here, the beauty in the surrounding countryside that I saw from the windows of buses was tempting me, but I couldn’t explore.  Thankfully, someone informed me that for $400, I could own one of the little motorcycles/scooters that all the farmers ride here.  It’s a bit of a POS, but it has taken quite a beating from me and it still runs quite well, considering.  The important thing, though, is that it’s mine, and it allows me to see what’s over the next hill, around the next turn, or at the end of the road.  If only it were so easy to do that with your life, eh?

3 Responses to “Freedom”


  1. 1 Garrett December 9, 2008 at 4:28 am

    That does seem idyllic. I’m a city guy and Seoul is just big enough, but I must say that the idea of scooting about the countryside on a wander does appeal.

  2. 2 Driftingfocus December 9, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Yeah, it’s nice. I miss the convenience of a city or larger town, but I still prefer it out here. Mind if I add you to my blogroll?

  3. 3 She Rides Motorcycle Apparel December 18, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Glad to hear you found your “freedom”. I too love to ride! It has always been a way for me to get away and forget about everything. A simple hour long trip on a bike can melt away days of work and stress. The joy of being completely free to explore and discover on a bike is one of the best things about riding.

    It isn’t the destination, it’s the journey!

    Ride Safe!


Leave a Reply

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 52,347 hits

